As a general rule, you will take three or four AS or equivalent subjects in your first year at college; pursuing three of these to a full A Level qualification at the end of year two. We can guide you through your subject choices and find the most appropriate programme of learning when you apply to study with us.


  • There are two parts to each A-level qualification. An AS (Advanced Subsidiary) qualification makes up the first year and an A2 (full A-level) qualification is awarded at the end of the second year.
  • Most full A-levels are made up of between four and six modules. The AS qualification makes up 50% of the marks for the full A-level. You are assessed by a mixture of coursework and examinations during the two years of study.
  • With A-Levels, you can progress to university or into employment.

BTEC Extended Diploma:

  • This is another two-year course that is worth three A-levels. The main difference is that there are no examinations; you are assessed purely on coursework.
  • With a BTEC Extended Diploma, you can progress to university or into employment.


  • We offer GCSE courses in: Science, Mathematics, English, Psychology, French, and Dance.

Minimum entry requirements

You will need a minimum of six C grades at GCSE to take AS Levels and a minimum of five C grades at GCSE to follow a BTEC Extended Diploma at NPTC Group of Colleges Sixth Form Academy. Some courses will specify higher grades for particular subjects at GCSE. Further details can be found within our prospectus.

For example:

  • For A level Mathematics, a grade B in GCSE Mathematics is required.
  • For A level Physics, a Grade B in GCSE Mathematics is recommended.
  • For science A levels, it is recommended that you have achieved a grade B at the higher tier paper of additional or triple science.

Students who achieve mainly A or A* grades at GCSE will have the opportunity to follow our Gifted and Talented programme.

Course Equivalents

Courses Equivalents
BTEC Extended Diploma 3 A Levels
BTEC Subsidiary Diploma 1 A Level
BTEC Level 2 Diploma 4 GCSEs